News: At The Gates – “The Nightmare Of Being” Album Out Now; Band Release Video For Title-Track

AT THE GATES – “The Nightmare Of Being” Album Out Now

Band Release Video For Title-Track – Special album stream event happening tomorrow


Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES are releasing their newest studio album “The Nightmare Of Being” worldwide via Century Media Records today.

Check out the title-track “The Nightmare Of Being” in a video directed by Patric Ullaeus / (Arch Enemy, In Flames, Dimmu Borgir, etc.) here.

AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant commented as follows:  One of the key tracks on the album, this one is really dark and haunting, with some classic old school AT THE GATES harmonies thrown in. I guess some of you have already read up on the concept of the album, this one is the introduction to said concept, introducing the main idea that mankind’s consciousness is the ghost of our nightmares, the plague that drives us to our own extinction. I am really happy that Patric Ullaeus got the chance to, once again, interpret the dark themes of our music with his video. He really gave this a special feeling, which I think goes really well with the theme of the abyss of the human soul. Today you can also, finally, listen to the whole album! Dive in! It is, as said before, the most rich, cinematic, textured, layered, progressive and dynamic album we have ever written. Thanks for listening!”


Also check out the previously released videos/singles off “The Nightmare Of Being” here:

“Spectre of Extinction”:
“The Paradox“:
“The Fall Into Time”:


In other news, AT THE GATES are launching a free full album stream premiere event to celebrate the release of “The Nightmare Of Being” tomorrow, Saturday, July 3rd at 7 PM BST on YouTube. AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant will be part of the chat for this exclusive album premiere. Join here:

While main parts for “The Nightmare Of Being” were recorded in Sweden at several different studios – Drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg -, the album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Amon Amarth, Opeth, Kreator, etc.) by Jens Bogren, who has previously worked with AT THE GATES on their “At War With Reality” comeback album from 2014. The album’s visual concept was developed by artist Eva Nahon.

The tracklisting of “The Nightmare Of Being” (45:44 min.) is as follows:

  1. Spectre of Extinction (4:49)
  2. The Paradox (4:43)
  3. The Nightmare of Being (3:49)
  4. Garden of Cyrus (4:25)
  5. Touched by the White Hands of Death (4:07)
  6. The Fall into Time (6:45)
  7. Cult of Salvation (4:24)
  8. The Abstract Enthroned (4:26)
  9. Cosmic Pessimism (4:31)
  10. Eternal Winter of Reason (3:38)

“The Nightmare Of Being” is available in the following formats:

– Ltd. Deluxe Transparent Blood Red 2LP+3CD Artbook
– Ltd. 2CD Mediabook
– Standard CD Jewelcase
– Standard LP
– Digital Album

The album’s limited deluxe 2LP+3CD Artbook contains exclusive transparent blood red vinyl on 180g. and includes a 9-track Live LP & CD as well as an exclusive instrumental version of the entire “The Nightmare Of Being” album as bonus CD. It furthermore comes with an extended 32-page booklet, a double-sided A2 poster and 4 art prints. The album’s limited 2CD Mediabook comes with an extended 32-page booklet and a 9-track Live CD as bonus.

The tracklisting for the live bonus (35:39 min.) is as follows:

  1. Red (King Crimson cover, Live at Roadburn) (03:22)
    2. The Scar (Live at Roadburn) (03:08)
    3. Koyaanisqatsi (Philip Glass cover, Live at Roadburn) (03:37)
    4. The Burning Darkness (Live at Roadburn) (02:29)
    5. Daggers of Black Haze (Live in Stockholm) (04:48)
    6. Death and the Labyrinth (Live in San Francisco) (03:37)
    7. A Stare Bound in Stone (Live in in San Francisco) (04:09)
    8. Heroes and Tombs (Live in San Francisco) (04:04)
    9. The Night Eternal (Live in San Francisco) (06:21)

The standard vinyl version of “The Nightmare Of Being” comes on 180g vinyl and with double-sided A2 poster. It is available in the following vinyl colour variants and limitations:

Black LP – Unlimited
Transparent Blue LP – 300x copies via CM Webshop and CM Distro Europe
Bright Gold-Deep Blood Red Splattered LP – 500x copies via Amazon Germany
Sky Blue – 300x copies via EMP
White LP – 300x copies via Nuclear Blast
Bright gold LP – 300x copies via Supreme Chaos
Lilac – 300x copies via Napalm Records
Silver LP – 300x copies via Bengans / Sweden
Transparent Petrol Green – 300x copies via Eyesore Merch / UK
Bone Colored LP – 500x copies via Indie Stores / CM USA
Black Ice LP – 300x copies via CM Webshop USA
Ultra Clear LP – 300x copies via Revolver USA
Tan Colored LP – 300x copies via Decibel USA

Order the various formats here:


AT THE GATES line-up:

Tomas Lindberg Redant – Vocals
Jonas Björler – Bass
Martin Larsson – Guitar
Jonas Stålhammar – Guitar
Adrian Erlandsson – Drums

AT THE GATES online: