Review: The Wildhearts – The Renaissance Men


The Wildhearts

The Renaissance Men

Out: 03/05/2019 on Graphite Records

It doesn’t matter how famous you are, how good looking you are, or how big your stage show is, if your music sucks then your band sucks. The Wildhearts don’t suck. It’s been 10 years since the last Wildhearts album and the wait has been worth it. Channelling Ginger’s inner turmoil and what appears to be the spirit of Lemmy Kilmister himself they’ve created a rarity in music, an album of 10 songs that all sound great. There’s a definite raw hard rock and punk edge to the album, which coupled with Ginger’s vocal rasp make them the spiritual successor to Mötorhead. From the anthemic Let ‘Em Go (with guest artist Frank Turner)  to the title track The Renaissance Men the album just keeps throwing catchy lyrics and musical hooks. Diagnosis starts off like an epic 1970’s Who track before warping into an adrenaline fuelled punk anthem. With this album we may finally be about to see the band become the monster they deserve to be.

Track LIsting:
1. Dislocated
2. Let ‘Em Go
3. The Renaissance Men
4. Fine Art Of Deception
5. Diagnosis
6. My Kinda Movie
7. Little Flower
8. Emergency (Fentanyl Babylon)
9. My Side Of The Bed
10. Pilo Erection